WHAT IS AESTHETIC MEDICINE?

Why aesthetic medicine?

At a time when we are all brought increasingly face to face with our own images and those of others, we all want to feel good about ourselves and happy when we look in the mirror. To correct our flaws or fight the signs of ageing, advances in aesthetic medicine now give us access to new and effective techniques that do not necessary involve hospitalization and that allow us to return quickly to our social lives.

Aesthetic medicine or aesthetic surgery?

Both terms are very widely used in everyday parlance, but we think it would be worthwhile to review the differences between the two. Aesthetic medicine encompasses all the aesthetic acts and procedures that are usually carried out at a medical practice or an outpatient clinic (meaning with just a few hours of hospitalization). Conversely, aesthetic surgery concerns a more involved procedure performed by a surgeon with anaesthesia and hospitalization.

For all ages

Current trends point in part towards a gradual approach yielding more natural results and in part towards aesthetic procedures that may occur very early on to correct flaws on the face or body. As early as adolescence, acne scars can be erased. From the age of 20, the nose can be redone and laser hair removal is possible, as are cellulite treatments. At 30, some women begin to lose volume in the oval shape of their faces or start to have more pronounced wrinkles. From 40 years onwards, the balance of the skin’s barrier weakens. Cells can be stimulated to generate more collagen, but also to reduce forehead wrinkles and crow’s feet, fill in wrinkles and hollows in the face, and improve the skin’s texture. Next, around the age of 50 to 55, the decline in hormonal secretions intensifies the loosening of the skin. Aesthetic medicine is effective in erasing brown spots, reducing wrinkles and replumping the face.

At any rate, it is important to take the time to carefully consider what you want to “correct” before making any decisions. These changes are about the betterment of your skin, not a complete transformation. Today, physicians and surgeons are fully aware of the psychological stakes and can answer the questions of patients who are looking for tangible, natural results. Shortening the time during which the traces of the aesthetic procedure are too visible to go out in public is another major challenge addressed by aesthetic medicine, and a challenge for which CEBELIA works with the medical profession on a daily basis.

Cosmeceutical treatments, essential complements to any procedure

All aesthetic medical procedures have repercussions on the skin’s balance. At CEBELIA, our global approach to beauty can effectively supplement any aesthetic medical procedure with cosmeceutical skincare. During the pre-op stage of certain interventions, it is important to prepare the skin fully so that it can ramp up its natural defences. Post-op, very short-term skincare can produce spectacular results when it comes to offsetting adverse side effects (like overheating, irritation, bruising, swelling, etc.) and accelerating the disappearance of marks left behind by the aesthetic procedure. In the medium term, skincare enhances the medical act and reinforces its beneficial effects.

A booming market for aesthetic medicine

In 2016, with solid growth of 8.3%, the estimated worth of the aesthetic medicine market was more than €8.5 billion. More than 10 million aesthetic procedures are carried out each year around the world.

According to specialists, the sector could continue with the same annual growth rate of 8.3% through to 2020, when its value would exceed €11 billion.


When browsing on our website, information can be registered or read on your terminal, according to your choices.

Do you accept the cookies deposit and reading to allow us to analyze your browsing habits and measure the audience of our website ?

Continue browsing

Cebelia

Le site mobile sera accessible
prochainement

The mobile website will be available
soon

Consultez notre site depuis votre ordinateur
ou tablette (mode horizontal)

In the meantime, please visit us using your tablet
or your computer.

QU’EST-CE QUE LA MEDECINE ESTHETIQUE ?

Pourquoi la médecine esthétique ?

Alors que nous sommes de plus en plus confrontés à notre image et à celles des autres, nous avons tous envie de nous sentir bien dans notre peau et d’être heureux de nous regarder dans un miroir. Pour corriger nos défauts ou lutter contre les signes de l’âge, les progrès de la médecine esthétique nous permettent aujourd’hui d’avoir accès à de nouvelles techniques performantes qui n’impliquent pas forcément d’hospitalisation et qui nous permettent de retrouver rapidement une vie sociale. .

Médecine esthétique ou chirurgie esthétique ?

Les deux termes sont très utilisés dans le langage commun et il nous semble utile de rappeler la différence entre ces deux derniers. La médecine esthétique englobe tous les actes et interventions qui se pratiquent la plupart du temps au sein du cabinet du médecin, ou dans une clinique en ambulatoire, c’est-à-dire avec une hospitalisation de quelques heures seulement. A contrario, la chirurgie esthétique implique une intervention plus lourde, effectuée par un chirurgien, avec anesthésie et hospitalisation.

A tous les âges

La tendance actuelle va d’une part vers une approche progressive pour des résultats plus naturels, et d’autre part vers des actes qui peuvent commencer très tôt pour corriger des défauts, sur le visage ou sur le corps. Dès l’adolescence, les traces d’acné peuvent être effacées, à partir de 20 ans, le nez peut être refait, les épilations lasers sont possibles, le traitement de la cellulite aussi. A 30 ans, certaines femmes perdent du volume au niveau de l’ovale du visage ou ont des cernes plus marqués. A partir de 40 ans, l’équilibre de la barrière cutanée s’affaiblit. On peut stimuler davantage les cellules pour produire du nouveau collagène mais aussi réduire les rides du front et de la patte d’oie, combler les rides et creux du visage et améliorer le grain de peau. Ensuite vers 50-55 ans, la chute des sécrétions hormonales intensifie le relâchement cutané. La médecine esthétique est efficace pour effacer les taches brunes, réduire les rides et redonner du volume au visage.

De toute façon, il faut prendre le temps avant toute décision, et bien réfléchir à ce que l’on veut « corriger ». Il s’agit de s’améliorer, le « betterment » comme disent les anglo-saxons, et non de se transformer. Les médecins et chirurgiens sont aujourd’hui conscients des enjeux psychologiques et savent très bien répondre aux interrogations des patientes qui veulent des résultats tangibles et naturels. Réduire l’éviction sociale, ce moment pendant lequel les traces de l’intervention sont trop visibles pour se montrer aux yeux des autres, est aussi un enjeu majeur de la médecine esthétique, enjeu sur lequel CEBELIA travaille au quotidien avec le corps médical.

Les soins cosméceutiques, compléments indispensables de toute procédure

Tous ces actes médicaux ont des répercussions sur l’équilibre de la peau. Chez CEBELIA, notre approche globale de la beauté permet de compléter efficacement toutes les procédures par des soins cosméceutiques. En pré-opératoire, pour certaines interventions, il est important de bien préparer sa peau pour augmenter ses défenses naturelles. Et en post-opératoire, les soins à très court-terme permettent de compenser de façon spectaculaire les effets secondaires indésirables (échauffement, irritation, bleu, gonflement…) et d’accélérer la disparition des marques liées à la procédure. A moyen terme les soins subliment le geste médical et renforcent ses effets bénéfiques.

Le marché de la médecine esthétique en plein boom

En 2016 avec une solide croissance de +8,3%, le marché de la médecine esthétique a été estimé à plus de 8,5 milliards d’euros. Plus de 10 millions d’actes sont réalisés chaque année dans le monde. D’après les spécialistes ce secteur pourrait suivre sur les même taux annuels de croissance de 8,3%/an jusqu’en 2020 pour dépasser les 11 milliards d’euros.